SEO = Social Engine Optimization

In March, I snuck into Doug Karr’s office at DK New Media during his interview with Compendium’s CEO, Frank Dale.

During the interview, the conversation went “social”, and remarks were made that SEO was no longer just about key words, site architecture, and algorithms.  Search has gone social, and the results in organic search are either driven by social conversation, or online users crowd sourcing the answers to their questions.

In their search (pun intended) for a unique selling proposition that competes with Google and Yahoo, Bing has integrated social search with traditional key word search.

Check out this video about how it works:  Bing Originals: Discovering Hawaii

It’s obvious that Bing was listening to our podcast conversation and totally stole our idea.  Thought robbers.  Sheesh.

Now it’s out there.  Social has been institutionalized into search.

This could last, or it could be a flash in the pan.  Truthfully, I’m still waiting for Google and Facebook to merge.

I posted that on Facebook once.  No response.  I think it blew people’s minds.

What do you think?  Has search taken a irreversible turn to social?

Has Bing made a wise decision to formally integrate how users are already using their technology to make choices?

 

 

Jamar Cobb-Dennard is a sales and marketing expert who helps companies without a sales force have a sales force.  To receive your free trial of a software that will track your referral revenue, centralize social media updates, and automate email/text/postcard marketing, click here.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. I think its a mistake. When I want to search social I go to facebook. When I want something a little more credible than a drunk 14 year old commenting on politics I go to google! Bing can do what it wants. I dont use it. They rank me well for some good keywords so I am glad. But I still use google

  2. jamarspeaks says:

    I like your insight. Your comment makes me laugh for a couple of reasons. I hope there aren’t too many drunk 14-year old’s running around in general. I wonder how many drunk 14-year old friends you have! 🙂 I see what you’re saying though. When you want to crowd source. You do so. When you want to search, you do that. Why combine the two… Thanks for commenting!

  3. web page says:

    Asking questions are truly nice thing if you are not understanding
    anything entirely, however this article gives nice understanding even.

  4. Hmm it seems like your website ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I
    submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I
    too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole thing.
    Do you have any suggestions for newbie blog writers?
    I’d certainly appreciate it.

    1. jamarspeaks says:

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

      I heard a quote once that the best bloggers are the best readers of others’ blogs. Seems like you’re already doing the right thing – reading and commenting.

      The other thing that has helped many bloggers is to take snippets of conversations with friends, clients, and colleagues, and turn them into blogs. A blog is an electronic conversation, and there is no better way to extend a conversation that already happened, than to put it on your blog!

  5. I do accept as true with all the ideas you have presented to your post.
    They’re very convincing and will certainly work. Nonetheless,
    the posts are too short for novices. May just you please lengthen them a bit
    from subsequent time? Thank you for the post.

    1. jamarspeaks says:

      I’d be glad to write more. Any request for more info is ALWAYS welcome! Anything we can discuss in more detail in the meantime?

  6. webpage says:

    Appreciation to my father who shared with me concerning this
    weblog, this web site is in fact awesome.

Leave a Reply

